Tags

, ,

I know it’s been WAY too long since I posted and I’m going to try and be better about that. Summer can be a hectic time. But I have had this post in mind for quite a while. I just hope this isn’t too much old news by now…

Among many other “gamers” (not that I’m much of a gamer…) I played the new Bioshock game as soon as it came out. I knew the game was going to be quite full of steampunk aesthetic, but I had no idea just how MUCH of the game was so true to the genre and a prime example. I was ecstatic. It was so much more than a game set in the Victorian era with high-tech gadgets. They had literally everything that people think of as steampunk.

Let’s start off with the city itself; Columbia, the flying city. This city is literally floating among the clouds. Traveling either through airship or with the railings that connect each island, you explore this high-tech city in the early 20th century. I realize that this time period perhaps isn’t IDEAL for steampunk, but it pulls it off quite well. 

bioshock-infinite-columbia

As the main character, Booker DeWitt, you get around the city using a sky hook and slide around the railing. In fact, this skyhook is your melee weapon! Forget knives, I want to kill a guy with a spinning metal hook!

bioschock skyhook

So we have a flying town full of airships in the early 20th century and a hook as a melee weapon. Bring on the vintage robots!

Handyman

This, is a handyman. A huge part man part machine that you will see working on the docks and later, who you are forced to fight. He is almost entirely made of brass colored metal with a glowing center assumed to be his power source.

Songbird

This is a giant robotic bird. Need I say more?

patriot

This is a robotic “patriot” unit that you must fight. Not only is he a vintage robot, but he is even modeled after a 20th century soldier.

So once I got into the game, explored the aesthetic, discovered some of the cool science, I began to realize that the ONLY steampunk aspect this game was missing was the popular cephalopods. (WARNING: MINOR NON-PLOT SPOILER) Until…

tentacle power

I picked up a new ability. This ability literally turns your arm into a giant tentacle and allows you to shoot waves of water at enemies.

So this game as giant vintage robots, a flying city full of airships, tentacles, and cool old-school science that I won’t get into due to plot spoilers… I challenge you to question me. What steampunk aspects does this game not have? I am open to discussion =)

And for those of you who are steampunk fans who have NOT played this game. I HIGHLY recommend it. If you are even the slightest bit interested in playing a first person shooter with an awesome plot and gorgeous aesthetic, this is a must play in my book. 

